October 16, 2020
Press Release

POTTSVILLE, Pa. – This week, Congressman Dan Meuser (PA-09) was awarded the Friend of Farm Bureau Award from the American Farm Bureau Federation, recognizing his support for America’s farmers and ranchers during the 116th Congress. He visited farms today in Schuylkill, Berks, and Lebanon Counties for discussions on the agricultural priorities of the region. 

"I am pleased to have received the Friend of Farm Bureau Award,” said Rep. Meuser. “Agriculture is one of the leading industries in Pennsylvania, providing thousands of family-sustaining jobs. Thank you to the hosts of today’s farm tour across the 9th District. In Congress, I will continue to work for our farmers, ensuring a future filled with increased opportunity and prosperity for those who help feed America."

“Congressman Meuser and President Trump are both hard workers for farmers and for Pennsylvania,” said Jeff Hill, owner of J.C. Hill Tree Farm in Orwigsburg. “It was a pleasure to have Congressman Meuser join farmers from Schuylkill County today at our farm to discuss his advocacy efforts for us in Washington.”

“It was great to have Congressman Meuser to our farm this afternoon,” said William Palmer, owner of WT Palmer & Son Beef Farm in Shartlesville. “We appreciate his continued support for the agricultural community.”

“It was our pleasure to have Congressman Meuser here for a very informative discussion on issues important to farmers,” said Carl Weidler, owner of Carl Weidler’s Dairy in Palmyra.

About the Friend of Farm Bureau Award

The Friend of Farm Bureau award is given to those members of Congress who were nominated by their respective state Farm Bureaus and approved by the American Farm Bureau Federation Board of Directors. This award is based upon voting records on AFBF’s priority issues established by the board of directors, number of bills that a member has sponsored and co-sponsored, their specific leadership role for Farm Bureau on priority issues, and how accessible and responsive that member is to Farm Bureau members and leaders.